My Summer TBR* List

 Hi there! I’m back after a week break that I was not planning on taking… Last post was 2 books you should read, this time I am going to tell you about what I am planning on reading this summer.

I tried my best to narrow down the list for this post to fifteen (at the most) books. But… I could only narrow it down to…*cough cough* Ahem, eighteen. So, please bear with me as I ramble about books.

*you will be seeing this term (TBR) a few times. It means To Be Read. 😀

 I am currently reading, Redwall by Brian Jacques. I have never read this book before. My older brother loved the series, and I have heard it mentioned several times by friends. So far, I am enjoying it.

Books I PLAN on reading this summer (well, probably over the summer AND autumn :)) are:

 

The Dragons Tooth by N.D. Wilson. I’ve heard great things about this book and loved one of Mr. Wilson’s other books, 100 Cupboards. I am planning on reading this book ASAP, because its due to the library next week.

Dandelion Fire by N.D Wilson. Another Nate Wilson book. I am wondering why I have not read this one yet… I started it once and only got 6 or 7 chapters into it, but then I put it down and, I guess, just forgot about it. This is the sequel to 100 Cupboards.

 

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness is another book I should have read forever ago. I love Andrew Peterson’s music and many people have said this book is awesome. So, I am hoping to give this one a try soon!

Raiders from the Sea by Lois Walfrid Johnson. This book would be a reread. I have read it twice over a couple of years. I borrowed it both times from my cousins. We own the entire series except the first one. My mom recently purchased it because one of my sisters is supposed to read for school next year. So since we own it now and it has been awhile since I have read it, I think it is due for a reread.

Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne. Don’t laugh, please! (“A children’s story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children’s story in the slightest.” – C.S. Lewis.) I grew up watching the cartoon, and I think my dad read this aloud to us a LONG time ago, but I have never read the book myself. I have heard it is very witty (I like witty books) and it actually sounds pretty good. I am planning on giving it a try!

Out of the Silent Planet by C.S Lewis. I have heard great things about this book for awhile now. When I saw is on one of our bookshelves a couple of weeks ago, I pulled it off and stuck on my TBR shelf. Dad saw it there one night and was like “Emma, that book is really good! You’re going to really like it!” I was like, “Ok then, I am definitely keeping that on my shelf so I can read it soon.”. Also, I heard it recommended on a podcast I trust.

Watership Down by Richard Adams. I also heard this book recommended through a podcast. I found it at a thrift store this week. and when a book is only 25 cents, you just get it! 😉

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. This is also due for a reread. My dad read the book to me and my brother quite a few years ago. I read the book for myself (I can’t remember if I actually finished it), and have seen all the movies. I have not read it since seeing the movies (we watched each one at the theater when it came out and I have not seen them since. Those are probably due for a re-watch too.)

Persuasion by Jane Austen. (I wish my copy looked like that ;)). This is just the next Jane Austen book I would like to read. 🙂

The Innocence of Father Brown by G.K. Chesterton. Another book I have heard recommended and the saw on the very top shelf in our home “library”. I haven’t read many mysteries lately, so I am excited to read this!

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas. Both my mom and dad, said when they heard they had to read this book for a class in high school they were like “seriously? That sounds like torture!” (You have to admit, it kinda does), but they both said they really enjoyed it. I have been wanting to read it and then I found it beside G.K. Chesterton on the top shelf (Guys! I thought I knew all the books we own, but I guess I don’t).

(allow me to fangirl over my cover for a minute) *dies* the cover of mine is just… gorgeous! There is me with it… It is SO old and I LOVE it! IMG_5471

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom. I love any kind of story about WWII. I have read a few short stories on Corrie Ten Boom. I also own the Focus On the Family audio drama on her which I have listened to multiple times. I have been wanting to read this one for awhile now.

God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew. I recently heard about this one. I read a little about Brother Andrew for school last year. When I found out he wrote an auto-biography, I had to read it (though I still haven’t read it yet). He has a very interesting story. I hope to learn even more about him by reading this book.

The BFG by Roald Dahl. Another children’s book. It looks funny!

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. A classic I am excited to read! I read Jane Eyre by her sister earlier this year.

Cheaper by the Dozen by Frank B. Gilbreth, Jr. and Ernestine Gilbreth Carey. I found this at a thrift the other day.

The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emma Orczy. Now this book probably should have been closer to the top. I have been really wanting to read this for a while now. (also, note the author’s first name! ;P) I also found this at a thrift store the same day I found the others I mentioned.

Those are the 18 books from my summer TBR list. I hope y’all enjoyed my rather ramble-y blog post!

 Have you read any of these? Do you have recommendations for my TBR list? I’d love to hear you thoughts! Let me know in the comments. 

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Summer TBR* List

  1. I read Winnie the Pooh a long time ago, but it’s probably due for a reread since I remember practically nothing about it. And we are both rereading Raiders from the Sea!! I think that MAY have been the first book I ever fangirled over. 😉
    And Cheaper by the Dozen is so. FUNNY. I love that book!!!! It’s hysterical.
    I loved your list!

    Like

    1. I LOVE the “Viking Quest Series”!! I could fangirl with you right now. 😉 I’ve heard good things about Cheaper by the Dozen, I can’t wait to read it!
      Aww, thanks! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m planning on reading “On The Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness” too! Did you know that they are making a 3d animated show of the series?
    The book of “Winnie the Pooh” is really good. I personally think that it is better than the movie.

    Like

    1. I did heard that about the show! I am really excited about it. I want to read the book before they are done with it so I can watch it! That’s a little extra motivation on my part ;).
      I’m sure the book, Winnie the Pooh, is way better than the cartoon. I loved it growing up, but I am sure I would have different thoughts now. 😀

      Like

  3. Great list!!! I want to read Winnie the Pooh someday . . . soon. That’s one of those books that you can never be too old to read (or watch the movie. :D) Yes! Brother Andrew is fantastic! And you haven’t’ read the Hiding Place yet?? O:O Oh my goodness, you must read it!!! So amazing! And TSP!!! Eeeeep! I have heard great things about Andrew Peterson; I have been wanting to check out his books for awhile! I’ll have to see if my library has them.

    Oh, and just so you know, Cheaper by the Dozen has a decent amount of instances of swearing – using the Lord’s name in vain. I started it, and put it down, because while I can handle mild swearing, I can’t tolerate using the Lord’s name in vain. So, that was disappointing. And Out of the Silent Planet apparently has some language in it as well. So, just be forewarned. 🙂

    HAPPY READING! 😀

    Like

    1. No, I have never read The Hiding Place *hides*. I feel like I should have long ago! I have read many things on Corrie Ten Boom and have listened to Focus On the Family’s audio drama, but never read it. I plan on reading pretty soon though.

      Thanks for the warning about the books! I will probably hold off on reading them for awhile. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

